The Elections Commission (EC) has announced the parliamentary make-up for the 2024 parliamentary elections, which would see six additional seats due to increase in population. This will increase the total number of parliamentary seats from 87 to 93, according to the Commission’s report released on Wednesday.

The review of electoral constituencies was initiated in light of changes in the populations of existing administrative areas. The newly added constituencies for the 2024 election are as follows:

  • Hulhumalé Central
  • Hulhumalé North
  • Hithaadhoo Constituency (Hithaadhoo, Maalhos, Dharavandhoo)
  • Huraa (Huraa, Himmafushi, Gulhi)
  • Kolamaafushi (Kolamaafushi, Devvadhoo)
  • Feydhoo North (Feydhoo, Maradhoo-Feydhoo)

Following this reshuffle, Eydhafushi in Baa Atoll, Villingili in Gaafu Alifu Atoll, and Meedhoo in Addu City have been separated to have their own distinct representation.

As a consequence of these new additions, the names of some existing constituencies have also been changed:

  • Hulhumalé constituency will be renamed to Hulhumalé South
  • The constituency of Guraidhoo will now be called Maafushi
  • Th. Guraidho constituency will undergo a name change to Guraidhoo
  • Addu Feydhoo constituency will now be known as South Feydhoo

The Elections Commission has opened a window for public complaints and feedback regarding the interim report. The deadline for submissions is 3 p.m. on 19 October.