The opposition Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP) has handed nominations to 10 additional candidates, inclusive of several sitting legislators, for the upcoming parliamentary elections. This brings the total count of candidates who have received tickets without primaries to 46.

Among those received nominations is the incumbent Member of Parliament (MP) for Hulhumalé, Ali Niyaz, who will contest for the Kurendhoo constituency in the elections scheduled for 17 March. North Henveyru MP, Ibrahim Muiz, has also procured the party nomination and will contend for the same seat.

Prominent figures who secured tickets earlier include the speaker and MP for North Hithadhoo, Mohamed Aslam, and the deputy speaker and MP for Hoarafushi, Ahmed Saleem. Jeehan Mahmood, representing the Hinnavaru Constituency, and Ruqiyya Mohamed, contesting for the Dhangethi seat, are the solitary female candidates to have confirmed tickets thus far.

Former State Minister for Housing, Akram Kamaludeen, has also obtained the party’s nomination. He aspires to fill the vacancy left by outgoing MP and former speaker, President Mohamed Nasheed, who has chosen not to seek re-election for the Central Mahchangolhi seat.

On Monday, the MDP announced a roster of 111 candidates who will vie for 43 constituencies in the upcoming parliamentary primaries. These primaries, slated for 3 February, serve as a pivotal precursor to the parliamentary election scheduled for March. The primaries will witness a dynamic mix of incumbent lawmakers and fresh faces, all contending for the opportunity to represent their constituencies.

The upcoming parliamentary election is scheduled to be held on 17 March. The nomination period will commence on 30 January and conclude on 14 February. The tenure of the incumbent 19th parliament, comprising 87 lawmakers, is set to end on 28 May 2024. The 20th parliament will see an increase in representation, with an additional six constituencies, bringing the total number of seats to 93.