Former officials with diverse political backgrounds are gearing up for an upcoming by-election to fill the vacant Malé City Mayoral position. The vacancy arose following the election of Dr Mohamed Muizzu as President.

Former MTCC CEO, Adam Azim, has thrown his hat into the ring by announcing his participation in the Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP) mayoral primaries. Azim aims to address the challenges faced in Malé and has expressed confidence in his ability to do so. He says he has drafted a city plan and it will soon to be made public. The date for MDP’s mayoral primaries is yet to be announced, with applications closing on Friday.

The Elections Commission (EC) has scheduled the by-election for 13 January 2024. Interested candidates can file their nomination papers from 27 November to 13 December. In addition to filling the position of Mayor and other vacant Male’ City Council seats, by-elections will also be held for open seats in various local councils across the country.

Former Attorney General Azima Shakoor had previously declared her candidacy for the Malé Mayor position, representing the Progressive Party of Maldives (PPM) and People’s National Congress (PNC). She aims to lead efforts for genuine development in the Malé area and strengthen the administrative framework. Azima pledges to implement the strategic plan compiled by previous Mayor Dr Mohamed Muizzu.

Former Commissioner of Police, Hussain Waheed, also announced his intention to run for the Malé City Mayorship. He made the announcement on Facebook, seeking support from the public. Waheed brings a wealth of experience from his previous government roles and currently serves as CEO at Channel 13.

Former Minister of Youth, Sports, and Community Empowerment, Ahmed Mahloof, is also vying for the mayorship. Mahloof has to overcome Azim in the MDP primaries to enter the race on the party ticket.

Additionally, current Malé City councilor Mohamed Saif Fathih has also declared his mayoral candidacy. He is contesting through MDP’s breakaway faction, The Democrats.