The Parliament Committee on Government Oversight has finally approved the confirmation of the 22-member cabinet nominated by President Dr Mohamed Muizzu. This approval comes following significant delays and a major shift in the parliamentary majority.

During Saturday’s meeting, attended by 10 members, no proposal was made to vote separately for each of the 22 Cabinet members, despite earlier suggestions by the opposition Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP) members. The motion to approve all 22 ministers collectively was suggested by Thimarafushi MP Abdulla Riyaz of MNP and seconded by Central Hithadhoo MP Ahmed Rasheed. The motion passed with votes from five pro-government MPs, while MDP lawmakers abstained.

The meeting also addressed a letter from former MP Ibrahim Ismail (Ibra), who requested the committee not to approve Social Minister Dr Aishath Shiham and Attorney General Ahmed Usham, citing personal business grievances. However, this issue was set aside for later consideration.

The cabinet confirmation process faced initial delays due to reservations from the the MDP, which held the majority in the government oversight committee and the Parliament. The original report on the cabinet was deemed incomplete, causing a postponement in the confirmation process. The committee’s composition changed after 12 MDP lawmakers defected to the main ruling People’s National Congress (PNC) on Thursday. It now comprises members from PPM/PNC coalition, The Democrats, and MNP.

Parliament Speaker Mohamed Aslam had earlier suggested the possibility of confirming the cabinet at an extraordinary sitting. The new cabinet was initially submitted for approval on 20 November, two days after the administration took office.