The Democrats, a political faction originating from the opposition Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP) and established by former President Mohamed Nasheed, have declared their candidature for 41 seats in the forthcoming 2024 parliamentary elections.

Forty-six candidates, comprising 13 women and 33 men, have submitted their nominations to participate in the parliamentary primaries, according to the party. Most of these candidates are anticipated to secure party tickets as they are unopposed in their respective constituencies. The roster of candidates encompasses a blend of incumbent lawmakers and political novices.

Several distinguished figures have secured party tickets uncontested. These include Ali Azim, Member of Parliament (MP) for Central Henveyru; Eva Abdulla, MP for North Galolhu and former speaker; Imthiyaz Fahmy, MP for North Maafannu; Ibrahim Rasheed, MP for Central Maafannu; and Hassan Latheef, MP for West Henveiru and the incumbent president of The Democrats.

Other prominent candidates include Hussain Amr, the former managing director of the State Trading Organization (STO), contesting the North Machchangolhi seat, and Ismail Zariyand, contesting the South Galolhu seat. Fathimath Hamdha is vying for the North Hulhumalé seat. Mohamed Nasheed, the party’s founder, has previously decided not to seek re-election.

The Democrats will conduct their parliamentary primaries in only four constituencies—Kelaa, Kanditheemu, South Hulhumalé, and South Henveyru—as the remaining candidates have secured party nominations uncontested. The parliamentary primaries of The Democrats are slated for 3 February. The party has also released the preliminary electoral rolls for review and complaints.

Despite their opposition to former President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih in the 2023 presidential elections, The Democrats are presently collaborating with Solih’s MDP on issues of mutual agreement, including holding the government accountable. The two parties collectively rejected three nominations made by President Mohamed Muizzu to his cabinet at an extraordinary parliamentary session held on Monday.