The newly elected members of the 20th parliament are set to take their oaths of office on 28 May, the Speaker of Parliament, Mohamed Aslam, has announced. The Secretariat of Parliament is now making preparations for the forthcoming swearing-in ceremony.

The People’s National Congress (PNC), led by President Mohamed Muizzu, secured a majority with 66 seats in the 93-member parliament during Sunday’s elections. The opposition Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP), which held a majority in the 19th parliament, only managed to secure 12 seats.

The final sitting of the incumbent 19th parliament, whose five-year term concludes on 15 May, will be held on 13 May. Parliament sittings are typically conducted on Mondays, Tuesdays, and Wednesdays.

The election results brought significant changes to the political landscape, as neither the People’s National Front (PNF), led by former President Abdulla Yameen Abdul Gayoom, nor The Democrats, under the leadership of former President Mohamed Nasheed, managed to secure any seats in parliament.

Several independent candidates who contested with President Muizzu’s endorsement also won seats, raising the number of lawmakers backing President Muizzu to around 70.