The main opposition Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP) and its offshoot, The Democrats, commenced voting in their respective parliamentary primaries at 9 a.m. today.

The MDP primaries, scheduled to conclude at 5 p.m., have attracted a field of 149 candidates across 40 constituencies. The party has maintained its objective of fielding candidates for all 93 seats in the imminent parliamentary elections.

As it stands, 48 candidates have already secured their party tickets without contest. No primary contests are held in five constituencies—Felidhoo, Nilandhoo, Eydhafushi, Thimarafushi, and North Fuvahmulah — however, the party intends to nominate candidates for these constituencies in the parliamentary elections, with the declaration of nominees scheduled for a future date.

The MDP primaries are being conducted across 95 islands and Malé City, with the city hosting 27 ballot boxes. In total, the party has placed 122 ballot boxes nationwide. 25,325 party members are eligible to vote in the primaries for the 40 open constituencies.

Simultaneously, The Democrats have commenced their primaries in four constituencies—Kelaa, Kanditheemu, South Hulhumalé, and South Henveyru. The voting process began at 9 a.m. and will continue until 4 p.m. The remaining candidates have secured their nominations without contest.

According to party sources, 46 candidates, comprising 13 women and 33 men, submitted their nominations to participate in the parliamentary primaries. Most of these candidates secured party tickets as they face no opposition in their constituencies.