President Dr Mohamed Muizzu has brought changes to the Maldives Police Service (MPS) by reconstituting the Police Board and overhauling the Intelligence Department. The new Police Board, established under Section 75(a) of the Police Service Act (Law No. 34/2020), was reconstituted on Thursday. 

The seven-member board includes four new appointees alongside three continuing members. The new appointees, selected by the President and from technical fields, are Ahmed Shareef, Ali Naseer Gasim, Ahmed Azeem, and Ahmed Saudhy. Continuing members are Aishath Noora Mohamed, Hamid Abdul Ghafoor, and Safa Shareef.

The board, however, does not have a direct role in the day-to-day operations of the police service. It is responsible for approving appointments to senior ranks, excluding the Commissioner and Deputy Commissioner. 

The appointment of the Commissioner of Police, which remains vacant, is the prerogative of the President, based on a list of names vetted by the Police Board.

Concurrently, significant changes have been made within the Police Intelligence Department. Fareedh Ismail, the Head of Intelligence, has been dismissed, and several other Heads of Sections within the department have been replaced. Six officers have been reassigned to new roles, while others are awaiting new responsibilities. 

Deputy Commissioner of Police Abdul Mannaan Yoosuf is currently undertaking the responsibilities of the Commissioner and Deputy Commissioner of Police Ali Rasheed is set to retire soon. Additionally, Assistant Commissioner of Police Mohamed Riyaz has been relieved of his duties.

These changes reflect a broader restructuring within the Maldives Police Service under the new administration.