The Elections Commission (EC) has begun publishing the official results of Sunday’s parliamentary elections, confirming the earlier announced preliminary figures. The elections, which saw over 200,000 eligible voters cast their ballots for representatives across 93 constituencies, did not require any vote recounts.

The People’s National Congress (PNC) dominated the polls, securing 66 seats, while the Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP) won 12 seats. Independent candidates claimed 11 seats, the Maldives Development Association (MDA) won two, and the Jumhooree Party and Maldives National Party each captured one seat. 

Following the elections, seven independent MPs joined the ruling People’s National Congress (PNC), boosting its supermajority in the parliament. This realignment was formalised at a ceremony at Muliaage, the President’s official residence, with President Dr Mohamed Muizzu in attendance.

Former Vice President of the Elections Commission, Ismail Habeeb, noted that MPs are permitted to change party affiliations prior to the next parliamentary session without facing disqualification, in line with Article 73(c) of the Maldives Constitution.

The Commission also addressed requests for recounts in the constituencies of Raa Atoll Dhuvaafaru and South Thinadhoo. Both requests were denied due to a lack of substantiated concerns that could affect the election outcomes. In Dhuvaafaru, the PNC’s Mohamed Ali won by a margin of just four votes over independent candidate Ibrahim Abdul Rahman, but the EC found no grounds for a recount after review.

The results mark a significant shift in the political landscape of the Maldives, mirroring the supermajority once held by the then-ruling MDP in the 2019 parliamentary elections. This year’s elections have set the stage for the new parliament to convene with a strong ruling party presence, ensuring stability for the current government as the country moves forward.