The People’s National Congress (PNC) has been designated as the party representing the government at the People’s Majilis. This announcement was made by Speaker Mohamed Aslam at the commencement of Wednesday’s parliamentary session.

The decision aligns with the affiliation of President Mohamed Muizzu, who was elected under the PNC banner. Speaker Aslam confirmed that the party has nominated Felidhoo MP Fazul Rasheed as the leader of its parliamentary group. The PNC currently holds two seats in parliament, represented by Fazul Rasheed and Thulusdhoo MP Ibrahim Naseem.

This shift in parliamentary representation is inclusive of two members from the Progressive Party of Maldives (PPM), which operates in alliance with the PNC. These members are Eydhafushi MP Ahmed Saleem and Mahibadhoo MP Ahmed Thorig.

Recent resignations have also reshaped the parliamentary landscape. Maduvvari MP Adam Shareef and Maavah MP Mohamed Saeed stepped down on Friday to assume roles in the new government’s cabinet. Additionally, Villimale MP Ahmed Usham of the Maldives National Party (MNP) resigned to become the Attorney General, Naifaru MP Ahmed Shiyam of the PPM to serve as Fisheries Minister, and Guraidhoo MP Ghassan Maumoon of the PPM to take up the position of Defence Minister.