The ruling People’s National Congress (PNC) emerged victorious in Saturday’s local council by-elections, securing four seats. The opposition Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP) and the newly formed The Democrats managed to secure one seat each.

This election marked the first victory for The Democrats since their inception last year. The party was established following a split within the MDP, led by former President Mohamed Nasheed, due to disagreements with former President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih, who currently serves as the MDP’s senior advisor.

The by-elections were held to fill the vacant local council seats of Maduvvari in Meemu Atoll, Utheemu and Thakandhoo in Haa Alifu Atoll, Landhoo and Velidhoo in Noonu Atoll, and Innamaadhoo in Raa Atoll.

In a historic win for The Democrats, Mohamed Azim Ali was elected president of the Maduvvari Island Council. The MDP’s Abdulla Arif won a seat on the Landhoo Island Council. The remaining four seats were claimed by PNC candidates: Ibrahim Sunan for Utheemu Island Council, Abdulla Abdul Razzaq for Velidhoo Island Council, Sameena Mohamed for Thakandhoo Island Council, and Aishath Samaha for Innamaaadhoo Island Council.