The Maldivian Democratic Party’s Parliamentary Group (PG) has a new leader, with Member of Parliament (MP) for the Alifushi constituency, Mohamed Rasheed Hussain, securing the most votes out of the three MPs contesting.

The post of the Leader of the MDP PG had been left vacant after North Hithadhoo MP Mohamed Aslam was appointed the new Speaker of Parliament on 13 November. Three MDP MPs had contested the leadership, with Hussain securing 28 votes, Kaashidhoo MP Abdulla Jabir gaining 20 votes and Kurendhoo MP Abdul Ghani Abdul Hakeem receiving four votes.

Speaker Aslam had held the post of MDP PG leader since 18 February 2022.